Algeria (officially: People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria) is an African country located in North Africa on the Mediterranean coast. Its capital and most populous city is Algiers. Algeria has a total area of 2,381,741 square kilometres (919,595 sq mi), 90% of which is desert. Algeria is the tenth-largest country in the world, and the largest in Arab world and Africa (following the partition of Sudan), as well as on the Mediterranean. The country is bordered in the northeast by Tunisia, in the east by Libya, in the west by Morocco, in the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, in the southeast by Niger, and in the north by the Mediterranean Sea. The official language of Algeria is Arabic.
For articles exclusively relating to events that have occurred within Algeria, visit the Algeria category.